About TU

Tribhuvan University (TU) was established on July 14, 1959 and is the oldest and the largest university in Nepal. There are five technical institutes and four general faculties. The university offers Bachelor’s, Master’s, M. Phil’s and Ph.D. degree in different disciplines at its technical institutes and faculties. There are 39 central departments and 4 research centers in TU and 1084 affiliated colleges throughout the country. Prime Minister of Nepal is the Chancellor of Tribhuvan University, while Minister of Education is the Pro-Chancellor. Vice Chancellor, the principal executive of the university, is assisted by Rector in academic programs and Registrar in financial management and general administration. Mainly the Government of Nepal finances Tribhuvan University, a non-profit autonomous institution.